locus main 3TEA Volume 14 artists Locus are a Vancouver-based acoustic/folk/electronic band, comprised of vocalist/lyricist Kaila So, twin musicians Jason and Kelvin Chu, and singer/multi-instrumentalist Eric Chan. All current members of Locus write or co-write, arrange, and perform original songs. Their dream pop sound draws heavily from influences in the electronic, industrial, ambient, and ethereal genres. Since forming in late 2006, Locus has made many live appearances at various local venues, including the Norman Rothstein Theatre, Tom Lee Music Hall, and Fabric Night Club. The band has also performed in support of several community events, most notably the Summer Night Market and Vancouver Pride. “Shine” is the new maxi-single from Locus, released November 14th, 2009. This new recording features the lead mandarin single (Shooting Star). Executively produced by Kelvin Chu, “Shine” is also the first release to be entirely written, produced, recorded, and mastered by the band alone. “Shine” also contains one b-side: the piano version of (“Sunflower”), originally intended for the band’s full-length release, “Ambrosia.”

locus bottom 2Locus has produced several independent recordings. In the spring of 2008, Locus conceived, financed, and produced their debut EP “Silent Echo.” They released the follow-up to “Silent Echo,” titled “Ambrosia,” in January 2009. “Ambrosia”‘s first single “Wonderland,” was selected to appear on the TEA South Compilation Volume 14. Locus released their third studio effort in November 2009 titled “Shine.” Read Locus artist interview conducted by Phillip Hong of SRN Mediaworks. You may purchase Locus music here

Listen to Locus

One Reply to “Locus”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *